How Different Media Has Influenced Recipe Sharing

If you couldn’t tell from my blog, cooking is something that I am extremely passionate about. In this post, I want to talk about how cooking is related to one of my other passions, public relations. Traditional and nontraditional media is a big component of public relations. As many of you know, the media is constantly changing how people connect and share their ideas. I mentioned in my first post how I was going to have a post about social media’s influence on recipe sharing, but I have decided to expand it and talk about how all media has changed the cooking world.

Recipe sharing has been a common thing in the cooking world since the caveman made his first dish, but how people share recipes has definitely changed since then. Past generations have shared recipes through word-of-mouth communications. They would go to their neighbors and describe the ingredients in the dish they made, and that’s how they would share recipes. Then people started writing recipes down on paper to keep them and share them with others. These two ways of sharing recipes are still used today, don’t get me wrong, but a lot of people are now just sharing their recipes through different types of media.

According to American Treasures of the Library of Congress, the first American cookbook was published in Hartford, Connecticut in 1796 by Amelia Simmons. The cookbook was called “American Cooke”, and it featured recipes like “Indian Slapjack,” Squash Pudding” and “Pompkin Pudding.” The evolution of published media, like books, has allowed for the mass production of cookbooks. Cookbooks are still a great way to share recipes. Today, there are thousands of cookbook varieties from cookbooks just about dessert to cookbooks for crockpot recipes to cookbooks that are a famous cook’s recipes and much more! Cookbooks have changed as the world as evolved, for example now people can get cookbooks on their Kindles or iPads. My favorite cookbook as of right now is America’s Favorite Brand Name Cookbook.

Another type of traditional media that has changed the spread of recipes is cooking magazines. One of the first cooking magazines was called Gourmet, and it was published in 1941. Cooking magazines haven’t been around that long compared to cookbooks! Today, people can find all different types of cooking magazines at their local grocery or book stores. Cooking magazines feature hundreds of recipes in each issue. My grandma started sharing her cooking magazines with me, and that’s where I got some of my first recipes from. My favorite cooking magazines are Every Day with Rachael Ray and Food Network Magazine. I always find great recipes in these magazines!

My favorite social media site is Pintrest.  This website is where I share and get the majority of my recipes. Pintrest has made recipe sharing super easy. Pintrest has a category of Food and Drink where people can post anything food and drink related, aka recipes. It is just a bunch of pictures of food. Pintrest users put their mouse over the picture and can repin it to their own board, like it or comment on it. Click “repin” and you just shared your recipe with all of your Pintrest followers. The Internet has really influenced the sharing of recipes. People also post links to their favorite recipes to their Facebook page for all of their friends to see. Someone who sees the recipe can now click “share” on Facebook and then share that recipe with all of their friends. People can tweet links to their recipes and use hashtags to make it searchable, and anyone who likes it can retweet it and share it with their followers.

Recipe sharing is something that will never stop in the cooking world. I think cookbooks, cooking magazines, and social media are great platforms for sharing recipes. Blogs are another great place for people to post recipes for others to find. Where are some of the places you get and share your recipes? Comment and let me know!

The recipe I am sharing with you guys this post I got from Pintrest! The recipe is originally from Chef in Training. Enjoy these Cake Batter Pudding Cookies.

1 1/2 sticks (or 3/4 cup) butter

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 (3.4 oz) package instant vanilla pudding mix

3/4 cup yellow cake mix

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

2-1/4 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

sprinkles

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium size bowl, combine flour, salt and baking soda. In a large bowl, beat the butter, sugar and brown sugar together. Add in the pudding package and cake mix, and beat until it is well blended. Then add the eggs and vanilla. After that is all mixed, beat in the flour mixture. Finally, mix the sprinkles into the batter. Roll the dough into balls and place on a cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

3 thoughts on “How Different Media Has Influenced Recipe Sharing

  1. Great bit of historical info — thanks for sharing! I’ve only been blogging for a little over a month and it’s crazy when it comes to the role of social media is recipe dissemination. 🙂

  2. I enjoy cooking too even though I really haven’t gotten a chance to do much of it being that I am stuck in my dorm room most weekends. I do believe that recipes will constantly be shared, and that the media surrounding them will keep it going, but there is a question that I have. Do you think that any of these mediums will become extinct (i.e. word-of-mouth, cookbooks, cooking magazines) because of social media, meaning that in the future social media will be the main or only form of recipe sharing? I feel that it would, or people surrounding the medium would try to make it that way, because I personally tend to get my recipes off of the internet as I know most people do. There might end up being sites, if not already, formatted like Twitter or Pinterest, devoted only to cooking where people would share recipes sent to each other, posted on the site, or even cooking shows becoming more of an online thing. It’s hard to predict the future but this is a possibility that could happen.

    • Hi, Kendall,

      Thanks for commenting on my post. I don’t think any mediums of recipe sharing will become extinct. Humans do still communicate face-to-face, so I don’t think word-of-mouth idea sharing will ever disappear. As for magazines, I don’t think cooking magazines will become extinct. I think they may become more popular on a different platform, such as an e-Magazine for an iPad or Kindle, but I don’t think magazines will go away. Recipe sharing is definitely going to continue to grow through the different social media platforms.

Leave a Reply

