Learn to Eat Healthy!

This semester I had the privilege of being a part of the Kent PRSSA Bateman competition team. Our challenge was to encourage healthy lifestyles and educate about the consequences of childhood obesity. Working on a campaign dealing with advocating healthy lifestyles has made myself want to become a healthier eater, too.

I always thought it was difficult to eat healthy. There is a Wendy’s, Burger King, Chipotle and Taco Bell all right next to each other along the main street of Kent. It’s really easy to just run there after class and pick something up to eat, and that’s how most people feel , too. After doing extensive research about healthy food, I realized that it is not difficult to eat healthy. Healthy eating is a lot easier than it seems. So here in this post I am going to share some healthy recipes that are college-friendly, of course, and some tips to make recipes you may love a little healthier with a few ingredient substitutions.

I just wanted to point out that I am not the only person with the idea of recipe substitutions for a healthier meal. Food Network Star Paula Deen is known for her recipes that call for extreme amounts of butter and other unhealthy ingredients. Well, her son, Bobby Deen has created his own show on the Cooking Channel where he takes his mothers recipes and makes them healthier. The show is called Not My Mama’s Meals, and is on Wednesday nights at 9 p.m.

Source: https://i2.wp.com/thedeenbros.com/images/uploads/BobbyDeen_SquareAd.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some common ingredient substitutions from All Recipes:

  • 1 cup of Beer= 1 cup of chicken broth
  • 1 cup of buttermilk= 1 cup of yogurt
  • 1 cup of corn syrup= 1 cup of honey
  • 1 cup of fats for baking= 1 cup of applesauce
  • 1 cup of mayonnaise= 1 cup of yogurt
  • 1 cup of sour cream= 1 cup of yogurt
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil (for baking)= 1 cup of applesauce

Now I haven’t tried all of these substitutions so I’m not sure how chicken broth instead of beer with turn out, but I have definitely used applesauce instead of oil in some things I have baked. I couldn’t even tell the difference. That is very common, and I recommend it.

Here are some easy-to-make, healthy recipes you should try next time you are looking to make something new. I will post one for breakfast, one for lunch, one for dinner and of course, dessert.

Breakfast

Baked Blackberry Oatmeal

The original recipe calls for a caramel drizzle over the oatmeal. If you want the caramel go for it, but since I am trying to go healthy recipes I would go without it.

Source: http://www.inspiredtaste.net

Lunch

Green Salad with Strawberries and Goat Cheese

I love fruit in my salad, so this salad recipe definitely caught my attention. It is also healthy because it has an oil and vinegar based dressing and not a creamy dressing, like Ranch. I don’t like goat cheese, so I would probably substitute it for a parmesan.

Source: http://www.eatingwell.com

Dinner

Inside-Out Lasagna

My roommate are huge pasta fans, so I saw this recipe and am going to have them try it. We eat a lot of pasta because it is super easy to make. This inside-out lasagna seems pretty easy to put together. Don’t forget to buy whole wheat noodles!

Source: http://www.eatingwell.com

Dessert

Vanilla-Orange Freezer Pops

I am inspired by today’s nice weather to pick a summery dessert. This recipe calls for only four ingredients.

Source:http://www.eatingwell.com

 

I found most of these recipes and got the pictures from Eating Well. Go check out their website for more healthy recipes and share them with me! Also, if you are interested in what recipes appeal to my tastebuds check out my Pinterest.

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Learn to Eat Healthy!

  1. Healthy eating should include Pistachio Nuts! Did you know the fat in pistachios are the good fats like mono- and poly-unsaturated fats, which are recommended for heart health and circulation? check out http://www.orandiranch.com, pistachios handcrafted with Himalayan Pinksalt! Great Stuff!!!

  2. Taylor, I really enjoyed reading this post! College students seem to share the same misconception about healthy eating as do the parents and children we’ve targeted for our 2012 Bateman PR campaign. It’s nice you’ve pointed out the ease of healthy eating, but there are many great benefits, too; a well balanced diet can boost a person’s mood and energy, making them more alert and focused throughout the day.

    I also enjoyed reviewing the healthy recipes you’ve posted on your page as well. You’ve provided your readers with fun, affordable and simple recipes. Great job!

  3. I’m glad to see that you want to eat healthier! And what you said is very true about fast food places. They are quick and easy, and many people will resort to getting a hamburger from Burger King, when instead they could easily run home and eat something unprocessed and homemade, like a peanut butter sandwich (that’s quick and easy!) You can even get creative with healthy recipes like you showed us. I think that salad with fruit sounds delicious! And, in my opinion, healthy foods look better, and by eating healthy you will have a reason to feel good about what you’re making. And healthy foods actually do make you feel better and look better! Great post!

  4. I couldn’t agree more that the way most people eat is terrible, and the fact that you want to change your own diet is awesome! People truly pay the price for the connivence of fast food with their own health. I really like the recipes you choose as healthy substitutes. They’re all quick and easy which will encourage college students to actually try making them once they read what little effort it takes to make the healthier choice.
    I think that maybe if you included the prices and where to get the ingredients for these substitutes, it may make your article even more of an inspiration. One will always look at the pretty pictures and think “I wish I could do that”, and then continue to flip the page. However, if the prices of the ingredients and a list of where they can be found were also posted, I believe it would push the reader into actually attempting to make these meals.
    Awesome job!!

  5. Hi Taylor,
    I have to admire you for your persistence of eating healthy. I have to admit that I always eat in a way to make myself die early. When I see meat my eyes would shine, and when I see anything green my mouth would just zip up, refusing to let any of the vegetables in. The worst thing is, I don’t gain any weight from the terrible eating habit. I know some girls who see this comment would want to kill me for saying so, but seriously, it gives me great excuse to think that I’m eating all the junk food to gain some weight and ignoring that fact that after a certain age all the calories may come back to me and I may blow up like a balloon. I hope you can keep posting all the great, healthy recipes, though, and I will probably find something I like one day and VERY SLOWLY change my eating habit and stop trying to kill myself.

  6. I really enjoyed reading this post as well. It is SO CHALLENGING to ea healthy in kent when the majority of the food options are fast food chains and Rosie’s. Rosie’s food is so much healthier and people often forgo the home-cookced meal so they can grab an 800 calorie burger at the local drive through which is lazy and unhealthy.

Leave a Reply

